Grade F in Marketing – PEAS, Make it Stop


Peas of Mind Groan.  Seeing this billboard ad along the Beltline heading south near M-6 reminds me of another annoying play on words I have recently come across.  My daughter has a Strawberry Shortcake book, which I read to her on occasion.  There is one aspect to this story that just drives me crazy.  Strawberry and all her cake/dessert friends never use the word “very”, instead being cute and all they use “berry.”  For example “This is the berry best cake I have eaten.”  As a father who wants to teach my daughter how to speak properly, I am not impressed.  Just like with this Allen Edwin Homes ad.

Peas of Mind?  Was Bretonfield built upon a former pea farm, is that the connection?  Perhaps they could have gone the junk food route and had “Piece of Mind” with a house built of pizza slices.  Even the artwork for the supposed pea house make it end up looking more like a church or a school than a house.  I find this ad berry confusing.  What do you all think?

7 responses to “Grade F in Marketing – PEAS, Make it Stop

  1. Reminds me of a student award winning ad that featured only a “smile” made of peas, with an appropriate ‘vegetables are good for you” type of message. THAT made sense.

    I berry much agree on this one. No connection, no obvious reason for peas. At least they could have referred you to a pod-cast for more info!

  2. Absolutely terrible! But we ARE talking about… So, some creatives would argue that that makes it a successful ad. I don’t share that sentiment. Actually, the more I look at it, the more irritating it gets.

    Hey, have you seen the roll of quarters billboard on 196 heading toward Holland? Thoughts?

  3. Since I jump on 196 at the M-6 intersection, I think I miss this sign. But if I ever am ever north of M-6 I will definitely check it out.

  4. Reminds me of that bumper sticker:

    Visualize whirled peas.

    Probably the only “pea” pun that I appreciate (sorry Bretonfield).

  5. Spot on again. I thought I was the only one annoyed by it. What do you think about the radio ad they are running with the “peas of mind?” 🙂

    • Edwin Allen homes has a radio spot with this same message? Wow I can’t even imagine what that would sound like. In my travels, I had noticed that they have other billboards in this campaign, one of which was better executed but I fail to remember what it was and where it was. Anyone know?

  6. Pingback: Similiar Logos? « West Michigan Business Blog

Leave a Reply

